I got fired yesterday for being gay. I got fired yesterday for being gay. FIRED, BECAUSE I’M GAY. Fired because my “lifestyle choices don’t match the core values of the company”. I’m going to just keep repeating this to myself until I am able to understand how something like this even happens anymore.

Yes, the job was driving me crazy because I was having to hide a portion of who I am as a person. It isn’t even that big of a portion of who I am, but it is a very important part of who I am. I know I am better off not being with the company because I don’t want to work for a company with those narrow minded beliefs. At the same time, it is still pestering me that I got fired for who I come home to at night. This has nothing to do with my work performance, or even who I am as a person in the work place.

It confuses me even further that while firing me they were complimenting how wonderful of an employee I am and kept stating that any center would be lucky to have me as an employee, just that I couldn’t be at their center. So the only conclusion this leaves me with is that I was working for a group of homophobic, closed-minded individuals.

With it still being PRIDE month and having just celebrated pride over the weekend this gave me a lot to think about. I have heard so many times that gay rights aren’t an issue anymore because gay marriage is legal. But pride and the gay rights movement involves so much more than just marriage. It involves the anti-trans rights laws that have been passed in North Carolina. It involves the laws just passed in Texas that prohibit gay couples from adopting. It involves all those in the LGBTQ+ community that have died for something as simple as who they love.

So yes, me being fired sucks, for lack of better words! But in the scope of things it is just one small act that just continues to show the amount of work that still needs to be done in our society to protect the rights of people to love who they wish. So for now I’m going back to standing up for the rights, that as a human being, I deserve. And back to my job search, but this time I will make sure it is with a company that stands behind equality.

Leave a Reply

